Writing a blog post

There are times when your day involves you doing something new and unique.  Those times can be nerve-wracking or exciting or both at the same time.  But often, we’re required to do more of the same.  We have the same morning routine; we do the same thing at work each day.  Your week is full of repetition.

And then there are times where the two combine.  If you work in a creative field, you might be asked to do something new in the exact same context every day.  Your repetition involves having to come up with a new idea, and that can be hard.

While I’m not writing a blog post every day, I have been trying to put one out each week.  So I thought that today, I’d give you insight into how I develop a blog post each week.  Hopefully, seeing my process can help you.

Step 1: It’s Monday and I have to write a post sometime this week.  I make a mental note to myself that I should come up with a topic for a post.

(Optional Step 2: On Tuesday I have a great idea for a post I’d like to write and I jot down some ideas in Evernote and start to flesh it out.)

More Likely Step 2:  It’s Thursday and I realize I haven’t written a thing.  I pick through my brain until I think of something that seems like it might work (like a blog post on how I write blog posts) and feverishly type.

Step 3: On Friday I forget that I’ve started a blog post and that I need to post something before the week is out.

Step 4: On Saturday afternoon, I sit down while everyone else in the house rests and prepare to relax myself.  Then I remember that I haven’t posted a blog yet, pull up my previous draft, throw in some new ideas, re-write a quarter of it, and hope that’s good enough.

Step 5: I post to my blog, and breathe a sigh of relief hoping that someone finds it entertaining at least.

Step 6:  See Step 1.

And it starts all over.  So as you look over my process I hope you feel encouraged and inspired, knowing that you’re not alone in your procrastination and filled with hope that maybe someday you’ll be able to come with a better process than me.

Leave a Reply

